By Janet Serra

Posted: 08/22/2017 16:25:59

The Carriage House on the grounds of the Torrington Historical Society located on 192 Main Street in downtown Torrington is hosting a new exhibition that is showing off the Society's new acquisitions. This collection showcases a variety of items that have been added to the Society's collection within the past few years.

What You Will See

Collections on display include: a guitar made in Torrington ca. 1856 by noted American luthier James Ashborn; photographs of the Conley Inn (later the Yankee Pedlar) taken in 1891 when the inn first opened; paintings of local people and places; photographs of Torrington from the 1850s through the 1950s; a machinist's toolbox used by Joseph Ruwet; products manufactured in our
city including a 19th century Hendey lathe; and, one of the most popular items in the exhibit - a sign from The Sugar Shack, a 1970s gathering spot for local teens.


Admission to the Carriage House Gallery is free; the gallery is located behind the Hotchkiss Fyler House.  The Gallery and House are open Wed. - Sat. from 12 noon to 4 p.m.